fbpx

ORACLE Database Monitoring

You rent your DB Server –
We take care of it 24/7

 

One of the most common problems in IT departments is probably the shortage of manpower and the associated overload of employees. Nevertheless, the availability and performance of hardware and applications must be guaranteed, especially if they are business-critical. The outsourcing of the database operation can therefore be a real game changer to save time, money and nerves.

 

Of course, this can only work if the cloud partner also knows what he is doing. That is why we present our requirements for the ideal ORACLE database monitoring.

 

Professional Monitoring Tools and good Employees

 

We use PRTG from Paessler to monitor the IT systems. With this application, we watch OS and applications as well as the hardware using customized parameters.

The second pillar of reliable monitoring are the employees: They have years of experience and must also take part in training courses on a regular basis. Alexander Jost is responsible for monitoring the ORACLE databases of a large customer. “We use scripts to examine how well the database is doing. By querying individual devices with sensors, we receive information about their resource utilization, network and uptime. We use checks to watch blocks, data files, free processes or sessions, etc. We find out the status of a database using our own scripts that record the values for the checks,” says Alexander Jost, Operation Engineer at Timewarp.

Alexander Jost, Operation Engineer, Timewarp

Based on the defined threshold values, incidents are triggered and the support team or operation team takes care of the solution. These are in charge 24×7 and communicate via a ticketing system (organized according to ITIL). This ensures that automatic messages or specially created messages are not lost and the status quo of the processing can be traced.

 

Individual 24×7 ORACLE Monitoring

 

With PRTG we get a good overview of the status of your databases as well as their availability and performance. When it comes to monitoring, we generally differentiate between OS monitoring and application monitoring. We have a lot of experience in monitoring an ORACLE database. We adapt the monitoring individually to your preferences and develop the scripts for it. Individual monitoring parameters are thus included. Our goal is to make our customers’ IT life as easy as possible with our services.

 

That’s why we only need 5 Steps to a High-availability Cloud Database:

 

  1. Order VMs -> With that, most of your work is done.
  2. We set up the VMs. -> The database and the monitoring running.
  3. We adapt the monitoring individually to your preferences and develop the scripts for it -> Individual monitoring parameters are thus included.
  4. Definition of the reporting queue and integration into ticketing -> This makes it clear who has to do what in the event of an incident.
  5. Non-disruptive migration with Go Live

 

The main Focuses of OS Monitoring are:

 

  • CPU
  • RAM
  • Disc
  • Network
  • Memory
  • Uptime
  • Various Processes

 

This is done with Application Monitoring:

 

We check the status of the databases and report this in checks. The implementation takes place by means of individual scripts. These shell scripts are automatically executed on the server. If a defined value is exceeded, a notification is given, depending on the definition, as a warning or error. In the event of an error, an automatic ticket is generated, which is then processed by our support team. The checks can be individually adapted according to the wishes of the customer, e.g. corrupt blocks, processes, data files, recover files, …

 

Do you have any questions about our services or do you need advice?

 

Then please contact Rainer Schneemayer at beratung@timewarp.at or +43 141 41919-203.

New Articles:

Netzwerk
Renewal of Timewarps Network with Arista
Archiv E-Mails
E-Mail-Archiving as a Service
DSGVO-konforme Nutzung von MS Office 365

Social Media

TIMEWARP Newsletter

Would you like to be informed about news right away? Then register here for the newsletter:

fbpx

Blog, News

ORACLE Datenbank Monitoring

Datenbank

Sie mieten Ihren DB Server –
Wir kümmern uns 24/7 darum

 

Eines der häufigsten Probleme in IT-Abteilungen ist wohl der Mangel an Arbeitskräften und die damit einhergehende Überlastung der Mitarbeiter. Trotzdem müssen Verfügbarkeit und Performance von Hardware und Applikationen garantiert werden, besonders wenn sie geschäftskritisch sind. Das Outsourcing des Datenbankbetriebs kann somit ein echter Game-Changer sein um Zeit, Geld und Nerven zu sparen.

 

Das kann selbstverständlich nur funktionieren, wenn der Cloud Partner auch weiß, was er tut. Deshalb stellen wir unsere Anforderungen an das ideale ORACLE Datenbank Monitoring vor.

 

Professionelle Monitoring Tools und gute Mitarbeiter

 

Wir verwenden für das Monitoring der IT-Systeme PRTG von Paessler. Mit dieser Anwendung monitoren wir OS und Applikationen sowie die Hardware anhand von Parametern, die wir individuell für Kunden anpassen.

Die zweite Säule eines sicheren Monitorings sind die Mitarbeiter: Diese haben jahrelange Erfahrung und müssen auch regelmäßig an Schulungen teilnehmen. Bei uns ist Alexander Jost für das Monitoring der ORACLE Datenbanken eines großen Kunden zuständig. „Wir untersuchen mit Skripten, wie gut es der Datenbank geht. Durch Abfragen einzelner Devices mit Sensoren erhalten wir Information über deren Ressourcen-Auslastung, Netzwerk und die Uptime. Anhand von Checks überprüfen wir Blöcke, Datafiles, freie Prozess oder Sessions usw. Den Zustand einer Datenbank finden wir über eigene Skripte heraus, die Werte zu den Checks aufzeichnen.“, sagt Alexander Jost, Operation Engineer bei Timewarp.

Alexander Jost, Operation Engineer, Timewarp

Anhand der definierten Schwellwerten werden Incidents ausgelöst und das Support Team bzw. Operation Team kümmern sich um die Lösung. Diese sind 24×7 im Einsatz und kommunizieren über ein Ticketing System (organisiert nach ITIL). Damit ist sichergestellt, dass automatische Nachrichten oder eigens erstellte nicht verloren gehen und der Status quo der Bearbeitung nachvollziehbar ist.

 

Individuelles 24×7 ORACLE Monitoring

 

Mit PRTG erhalten wir einen guten Überblick über den Zustand Ihrer Datenbanken sowie über die Verfügbarkeit und Performance. Generell unterscheiden wir beim Monitoring zwischen OS-Monitoring und Application-Monitoring. Beim Überwachen einer ORACLE Datenbank haben wir viel Erfahrung. Wir passen das Monitoring individuell an Ihre Präferenzen an und entwickeln die Skripte dazu. Individuelle Monitoring Parameter werden so mit einbezogen. Unser Ziel ist es, mit unseren Services das IT-Leben unserer Kunden so einfach wie möglich zu machen.

 

Deshalb brauchen wir nur 5 Schritte zur hochverfügbaren Cloud Datenbank:

 

  1. VMs bestellen -> Damit ist der Großteil Ihrer Arbeit erledigt.
  2. Wir setzten die VMs auf. -> Die Datenbank und das Monitoring werden eingerichtet.
  3. Wir passen das Monitoring individuell an Ihre Präferenzen an und entwickeln die Skripte dazu.-> Individuelle Monitoring Parameter werden so mit einbezogen.
  4. Festlegen der Reporting-Queue und Einbindung ins Ticketing -> Damit wird klar, wer was im Fall eines Incidents zu tun hat.
  5. Unterbrechungsfreie Migration mit Go Live

 

Die Schwerpunkte des OS-Monitorings sind:

 

  • CPU
  • RAM
  • Diskauslastung
  • Netzwerk
  • Memory
  • Uptime
  • Diverse Prozesse

 

Das wird beim Applikation Monitoring gemacht:

 

Dabei Überprüfen wir den Zustand der Datenbanken und reporten diesen in Checks. Die Umsetzung erfolgt dabei mittels individueller Skripte. Diese Shell Skripte werden automatisiert am Server ausgeführt. Wenn ein definierter Wert überschritten wird, erfolgt eine Benachrichtigung, je nach Definition, als Warnung oder Error. Bei Error wird ein automatisches Ticket generiert, das anschließend von unserem Support Team bearbeitet wird. Die Checks sind nach den Wünschen der Kunden individuell anpassbar z.B. corrupt Blocks, Prozesse, Datafiles, Recover Files, …

 

Haben Sie Fragen zu unseren Services oder brauchen Sie Beratung?

 

Dann kontaktieren Sie bitte Rainer Schneemayer unter beratung@timewarp.at oder +43 14141919-203

Diesen Artikel teilen:
Veronika Pambalk

Kommentare sind geschlossen.