fbpx

The ideal Database Hosting

Scalable DB Infrastructure with a high Convenience Factor

 

There are usually three things that IT managers want from an external host when outsourcing databases:

  • The ability to easily and quickly scale the infrastructure.
  • Comprehensive managed services that completely relieve your own IT staff in this area.
  • A very high availability and performance of the databases.

Let’s take a closer look at how these three goals in database hosting can be achieved through the right structure of the infrastructure and the optimal selection of high-quality components:

 

Construction of the IT Infrastructure with Containers

 

The structure of the infrastructure is strongly related to the desired availability and performance of the database service, as well as its scalability. Dedicated single-container databases are therefore popular. These have a high performance, can be easily scaled and are therefore very flexible.

So in the single container setup, the container dynamically receives more compute resources (more CPU, RAM and DiskIIO) and can therefore be dynamically scaled. If a host on which the container is currently running fails, it is automatically rebuilt on another host within seconds and the database is available again.

The availability with this model is 99.9% and is therefore the same as with most large public cloud providers. So for many companies, this is a cost-effective method of operating databases fully managed from the cloud.

For the upper middle class and the enterprise segment, we usually offer 3 or 4-node clusters over several data center locations because of their need of more availability and performance. In addition to the flexibility and the high performance, this structure guarantees maximum reliability in the area of ​​99.99%.

 

Great Relief through fully managed Database Operation

 

In many companies, the databases have to be available 24/7. That is why the operation is very labor-intensive. It is therefore advisable to have the operation of hardware and applications, including monitoring and backup, carried out by a cloud service provider. In the long run, this is more cost-effective and security is greater, even with 9×5 operation. With us, these services are included in database hosting.

In addition, there is also the option of adapting the monitoring to customer-specific parameters and thus offering the greatest possible relief, which is also tailored to individual needs.

Incident and capacity management are important pillars of the operating offer, which is also partially automated (e.g. automatic provision of containers when the load increases).

The backup runs with the Agents category and saves data consistently. In principle, we save all backups in a second data center. This means that if one location fails, the data can be reproduced on another. We have thus also included a disaster recovery as standard. With all these measures, our goal is to keep the convenience factor and security for our customers as high as possible.

 

Highly available databases with top performance

 

Especially when a lot of data is processed, the issue of performance is brand new. High performance is important to us, which is why we use NVMe storage. However, performance has to be fixed in several places in the IT system. Before you even turn a screw, we recommend doing a performance stress test, which we offer free of charge in the basic version on our website. You will also receive a detailed analysis of the resilience of your web platform. There are different versions of the stress test for customer-specific requirements. Click here for the stress test https://timewarp.at/stress-test/.

The concept of the database and the structure of the platform are also decisive for very high availability. With two or more nodes in a cluster over at least two locations, the availability can be increased to 99.99%, which is usually higher than with classic public cloud providers. For maximum availability, a VMware cluster stretched over two data centers is the best choice, but Hyper-V and KVM are also possible as hypervisors.

 

Do you have any questions about database hosting?

 

Then please contact Rainer Schneemayer (sales@timewarp.at).

New Articles:

Netzwerk
Renewal of Timewarps Network with Arista
Archiv E-Mails
E-Mail-Archiving as a Service
DSGVO-konforme Nutzung von MS Office 365

Social Media

TIMEWARP Newsletter

Would you like to be informed about news right away? Then register here for the newsletter:

fbpx

Blog, News

Das ideale Datenbank-Hosting

Db aaS

Skalierbare DB-Infrastruktur mit hohem Convenience-Faktor

 

Es gibt meist drei Dinge, die sich IT-Leiter beim Auslagern von Datenbanken von einem externen Hoster wünschen:

  • Die Möglichkeit die Infrastruktur leicht und schnell skalieren zu können.
  • Umfassende Managed Services, die das eigene IT-Personal in diesem Bereich vollständig entlasten.
  • Eine sehr hohe Verfügbarkeit und Performance der Datenbanken.

Schauen wir uns im Detail an, wie diese drei Ziele beim Datenbank-Hosting durch den richtigen Aufbau der Infrastruktur und die optimale Auswahl von hochwertigen Komponenten erreicht werden können:

 

Aufbau der IT-Infrastruktur mit Containern

 

Der Aufbau der Infrastruktur hängt stark mit der gewünschten Verfügbarkeit und Performance des Datenbank Services zusammen, ebenso mit deren Skalierbarkeit. Beliebt sind deshalb dedizierte Single-Container-Datenbanken. Diese haben eine hohe Performance, lassen sich leicht skalieren und sind damit sehr flexibel.

Im Single-Container-Setup bekommt der Container dynamisch mehr Compute Ressourcen (mehr CPU, RAM und DiskIIO) und kann damit dynamisch skaliert werden. Wenn ein Host ausfällt, auf dem der Container gerade läuft, wird dieser innerhalb von Sekunden automatisch auf einem anderen Host neu erstellt und die Datenbank ist wieder verfügbar.

Die Verfügbarkeit liegt bei diesem Modell bei 99,9% und ist damit gleich hoch wie bei den meisten großen Public Cloud Anbietern. Für viele Unternehmen ist das eine kostengünstige Methode Datenbanken fully managed aus der Cloud zu betreiben.

Für den gehobenen Mittelstand und das Enterprise-Segment bieten wir meist 3 oder 4-Nodes-Cluster über mehrere Rechenzentrums-Standorte an. Neben der Flexibilität und der hohen Performance garantiert dieser Aufbau größte Ausfallsicherheit im Bereich 99,99%.

 

Hohe Entlastung durch fully managed Datenbanken Betrieb

 

In vielen Unternehmen müssen die Datenbanken 24×7 verfügbar sein. Deshalb ist der Betrieb auch sehr personalintensiv. Es bietet sich also an, den Betrieb von Hardware und Applikationen inklusive des Monitorings und Backups von einem Cloud Service Provider leisten zu lassen. Auf Dauer ist das auch beim 9×5 Betrieb kostengünstiger und die Sicherheit größer. Bei uns sind diese Services beim Datenbank-Hosting inkludiert.

Zusätzlich gibt es auch die Möglichkeit, das Monitoring an kundespezifische Parameter anzupassen und damit die größte mögliche Entlastung zu bieten, die darüber hinaus auf individuelle Bedürfnisse abgestimmt ist.

Incidents- und Kapazitäts-Management sind wichtige Säulen des Betriebs-Angebots, das auch teilweise automatisiert ist (z.B. automatisches Provisionieren von Containern bei steigender Last).

Das Backup läuft mit Rubrik Agents und sichert Daten konsistent. Prinzipiell sichern wir alle Backups in ein zweites Rechenzentrum. Dadurch können beim Ausfall eines Standortes die Daten auf einem anderen reproduziert werden. Damit haben wir auch standardmäßig ein Disaster Recovery inkludiert. Unser Ziel ist bei all diesen Maßnahmen den Convenience-Faktor und die Sicherheit für unsere Kunden so groß wie möglich zu halten.

 

Hochverfügbare Datenbanken mit Top-Performance

 

Gerade wenn sehr viele Daten verarbeitet werden, ist das Thema Performance brandaktuell. Hohe Performance ist uns ein Anliegen, deshalb verwenden wir NVMe Storage. Performance muss aber an mehreren Stellen im IT-System festgemacht werden. Bevor man nur an einer Schraube dreht, empfehlen wir einen Performance-Stress-Test zu machen, den wir in der Basisversion kostenfrei über unsere Website anbieten. Darüber bekommen Sie eine detaillierte Analyse über die Belastbarkeit Ihrer Webplattform. Für kundenspezifische Anforderungen gibt es verschiedene Varianten des Stress-Tests. Hier geht´s zum Stress-Test https://timewarp.at/stress-test/.

 

Für sehr hohe Verfügbarkeit ist das Konzept der Datenbank und der Aufbau der Plattform auch mitentscheidend. Durch zwei oder mehrere Nodes in einem Cluster über mindestens zwei Standorte kann die Verfügbarkeit gesteigert werden auf 99,99% was in der Regel höher ist als bei klassischen Public Cloud Anbietern. Für maximale Verfügbarkeit ist ein VMware Cluster gestreched über zwei Rechenzentren die beste Wahl, es sind aber auch Hyper-V und KVM als Hypervisior möglich.

 

Haben Sie Fragen zum Datenbank-Hosting?

 

Dann kontaktieren Sie bitte Rainer Schneemayer per Mail (beratung@timewarp.at) oder telefonisch +4314191414203.

Diesen Artikel teilen:
Veronika Pambalk

Kommentare sind geschlossen.