Blog, News

Colocation or Server Housing – How does it work?

Colocation or Serverhousing Vienna – Here we show you the way from your own server in the office to server housing in an external data center. Read when you should definitely take the step to server housing and what advantages colocation brings with it.

Whats is Colocation or Server Housing?

Colocation, also called server housing or server housing, means the placement of own servers in a data center of an external provider. So you hire space for your IT systems for a certain amount of time at a data center provider like Timewarp. Important here is the state of the art equipment of the data center. In Austria, this is currently Tier III +. Our data centers (two locations at Interxion and e-Shelter) comply with this status. The advantage of colocation is the professional placement of the servers (for example, access control, uninterruptible power supply / cooling and fast uplink) without having to invest heavily. As a partner of leading international data center space providers such as Interxion and e-Shelter, Timewarp can also offer small and medium sized businesses footprint in Tier III + data centers at competitive prices.

Advantages of Colocation

Renting server footprint in a state-of-the-art data center, such as an Tier III + data center, helps you save time and money. And what’s more important: Colocation lets you sleep peacefully! Security and trust are important components in placing the servers. The equipment of a self-operated data center often does not match that of a professional data center provider. Especially in cases of burglary, technical infirmities or fires, the impact on IT systems of the company can take on a life-threatening scale.

Tier III + data centers have the highest levels of reliability in the following areas:


  • Access restrictions and video surveillance,


  • Air conditioning and extinguishing systems,


  • Power Supply,


  • High Availability

Do you need colocation or server housing?

For many small and medium-sized companies, sooner or later the time will come when the relocation of the IT systems to an external data center not only makes sense but is also clearly the better option. This has come in any case when spatial and / or technical limits are reached. If conversions are needed in your own data center, for example, to ensure a fail-safe power supply, or if air conditioning renewal is required, consider colocation or server housing as a viable alternative.

Other important reasons for moving to colocation are:


  • The security and availability of your systems is no longer enough to meet your SLAs.


  • Your connection to the internet is no longer sufficient to be able to serve requests to your webshop, for example.


  • You need a site redundancy to keep your systems highly available.


  • You have little to medium IT resources and / or IT expertise in your business.

From Colocation to Hybrid Cloud – respond quickly to growing demand!

Serverhousing saves time and money. By placing the servers in an external data center, issues such as security and availability are outsourced. This eliminates investment and ongoing costs in these areas on your side of the business. You also have more resources at your disposal and can thus take more care of your core task: to further develop your business!

A decisive competitive advantage will bring you the step from colocation to hybrid cloud. If the demand for your services grows quickly, you may reach also fast infrastructural bottlenecks. To proactively prevent this, we recommend renting virtual machines or server pools from the Timewarp Cloud. You can manage these yourself through a self-service portal. This increases your flexibility and at the same time reduces your time-to-market, as you can respond quickly to growing demand.

Read more:

Server Housing Vienna

Don’t risk data loss

Diesen Artikel teilen:
Veronika Pambalk

Comments are closed.

Blog, News

Colocation oder Serverhousing – wie funktioniert das?

Colocation oder Serverhousing

Colocation oder Serverhousing Wien – Hier zeigen wir Ihnen den Weg vom eigenen Server im Büro zum Server-Housing in einem externen Rechenzentrum.  Lesen Sie, wann Sie den Schritt zum Serverhousing unbedingt machen sollten und welche Vorteile Colocation mit sich bringt.

Was ist Colocation oder Serverhousing?

 

Colocation, auch Server Housing oder Serverhousing, bedeutet die Unterbringung von eigenen Servern in einem Rechenzentrum eines externen Anbieters. Sie mieten sich also Stellfläche für Ihre IT Systeme für bestimmte Zeit bei einem Rechenzentrums Anbieter wie Timewarp an. Wichtig dabei ist die State of the Art Ausstattung des Rechenzentrums. In Österreich ist das derzeit Tier III+. Unsere Rechenzentren (zwei Standorte bei Interxion und e-Shelter) entsprechen diesem Status. Der Vorteil von Colocation besteht  in der professionellen Unterbringung der Server (z.B. durch Zugangskontrollen, unterbrechungsfreie Stromversorgung/Kühlung und schnellem Uplink) ohne hohe Investitionen tätigen zu müssen. Als Partner von international führenden Anbietern von Rechenzentrumsfläche wie Interxion und e-Shelter kann Timewarp auch kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen Stellfläche in Tier III+ Rechenzentren zu günstigen Preisen anbieten.

 

Vorteile von Colocation

 

Das Anmieten von Server Stellfläche in einem State oft he Art Rechenzentrum, wie zum Beispiel einem Tier III+ Rechenzentrum, hilft Ihnen Zeit und Geld zu sparen. Und was viel wichtiger ist: Colocation lässt Sie beruhigt schlafen! Sicherheit und Vertrauen sind nämlich wichtige Komponenten bei der Unterbringung der Server. Die Ausstattung eines selbst betriebenen Rechenzentrums reicht oft nicht an jene eines professionellen Rechenzentrumsanbieters heran. Gerade in Fällen von Einbruch, technischen Gebrechen oder Bränden können die Auswirkungen auf IT-Systeme des Unternehmens existenzgefährdende Ausmaße annehmen.

Tier III+ Rechenzentren verfügen in folgenden Bereichen über ein Höchstmaß an Verlässlichkeit:


  • Zutrittsbeschränkungen und Videoüberwachung,

     


  • Klimatisierung und Löschanlagen,

     


  • Stromversorgung,

     


  • Verfügbarkeit

     

 

Haben Sie Bedarf an Colocation oder Serverhousing?

 

Für viele klein- und mittelständische Unternehmen kommt früher oder später der Zeitpunkt, ab dem die Übersiedelung der IT-Systeme in ein externes Rechenzentrum nicht nur Sinn macht, sondern auch eindeutig die bessere Variante ist. Dieser ist in jedem Fall gekommen, wenn räumliche und/oder technische Grenzen erreicht werden. Wenn in Ihrem eigenen Rechenzentrum Umbauten nötig werden, damit zum Beispiel eine ausfallsichere Stromversorgung gewährleistet werden kann oder wenn die Erneuerung der Klimaanlage ansteht, dann sollten Sie Colocation oder Server Housing als günstige Alternative in Erwägung ziehen.

Weitere wichtige Gründe für den Umstieg zu Colocation sind:


  • Die Sicherheit und Verfügbarkeit Ihrer Systeme reicht nicht mehr aus um Ihre SLAs zu erfüllen.

     


  • Ihre Anbindung an das Internet reicht nicht mehr aus um Anfragen zum Beispiel an Ihren Webshop ausreichend bedienen zu können.

     


  • Sie brauchen eine Standortredundanz damit Ihre Systeme hochverfügbar bleiben oder werden.

     


  • Sie haben wenig bis mittel IT -Ressourcen und/oder IT Know-How in Ihrem Unternehmen zur Verfügung.

     

 

 

 

 

 

Von Colocation zur Hybrid Cloud – reagieren Sie schnell auf steigende Nachfrage!

 

Serverhousing spart Zeit und Geld. Durch das Unterbringen der Server in einem externen Rechenzentrum werden Themen wie Sicherheit und Verfügbarkeit ausgelagert. Damit entfallen auf der Seite Ihres Unternehmens Investitionen und laufende Kosten in diesen Bereichen. Sie haben auch mehr Ressourcen zur Verfügung und können sich dadurch mehr um Ihre Kernaufgabe kümmern: Ihr Business weiter zu entwickeln!

Einen entscheidenden Wettbewerbsvorteil wird Ihnen der Schritt von Colocation zur Hybrid Cloud bringen. Wächst die Nachfrage nach Ihren Services schnell, erreichen Sie u.U. auch schnell infrastrukturelle Engpässe. Um das proaktiv zu verhindern, empfehlen wir Ihnen virtuelle Maschinen oder Serverpools aus der Timewarp Cloud dazu zu mieten. Diese können Sie selbst durch ein Self Service Portal verwalten. Damit steigt Ihre Flexibilität und gleichzeitig sinkt Ihre Time-to-Market Zeit, da Sie schnell auf die wachsende Nachfrage reagieren können.

 

Weitere Informationen:

https://timewarp.at/serverhousing-wien/

https://timewarp.at/risiko-datenverlust/

Diesen Artikel teilen:
Veronika Pambalk